yes yes, I’m blogging about Procrastination because I admit i’m one myself.

Assignments and Projects have been piling up and I don’t know where to start ): But o well, its my fault because i seem to have this mentality that 24 hours a day will never seem to end or time will just freeze when I’m squeezing my brain juices on what to write about.

I’ve always wondered to myself, what is it that makes me want to procrastinate.

Procrastinate-

The act of postponing, delaying or putting off, especially out of habitual carelessness or laziness.

from [http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/procrastination.]

and I couldn’t have agreed better! But of course people don’t only delay matters because of laziness. I googled more about it and found some points that were well elaborated..

There’s more than one flavor of procrastination. People procrastinate for different reasons. Dr. Ferrari identifies three basic types of procrastinators:

    • arousal types, or thrill-seekers, who wait to the last minute for the euphoric rush.
    • avoiders, who may be avoiding fear of failure or even fear of success, but in either case are very concerned with what others think of them; they would rather have others think they lack effort than ability.
    • decisional procrastinators, who cannot make a decision. Not making a decision absolves procrastinators of responsibility for the outcome of event

[http://psychologytoday.com/rss/pto-20030823-000001.html]

I think most of us fall into the second and third points don’t we? mmm, guess it all falls back on our confidence about our abilities. The tiny weeny bug of low self-esteem inside of us comes creeping into our minds and sooner than we know, nothing much is accomplished after staring at the screen for as long as only we know. I admit, that’s for my case. (: Its not that we have nothing to write about, i mean there are a whole loads of issues,stuff,rants for us to scribble in. Its just that, will we be able to write it well, interesting and bla bla bla. To distract our attention, we’ll be checking our mailboxes,facebooking and youtubing! It makes us feel that we’re still doing something except that it requires less responsiblity. Somewhat like a false sense of achievement to make up for what’s not done yet?

We’ve been blinding ourselves from saying, ” not enough time leh.” . Time management no longer comes into play if we talk about procrastination because i feel that it cannot be put on par with Insufficient time. Okay, im like telling myself about all the lies I’ve used to make myself less guilty and at the same time, fulfilling this week’s blog post! hiak! Whatever that i’m writing serves as a reminder for me too man,tsk. 😀

Like how Dawson Trotman would put it,

“The greatest amount of wasted time is the time not getting started.”

